Vegan and Vegetarian


During the winemaking process, many wines are filtered using a process called 'fining'. This removes unwanted particles and ensures the wine looks clear and bright rather than cloudy. 
The fining process can use a number of methods and these define whether wine is classed as vegetarian or vegan. Historically, the most commonly used agents were albumin (egg whites), gelatin (animal protein), casein (a milk protein) or isinglass (fish bladder protein).

It is important to note that these are not additives to the wine but tiny traces may be absorbed.

Vegetarian (V): wines fined with casein and albumin are usually acceptable to vegetarians.

Vegan (VG): the above four methods are not used in vegan wines. There are a number of animal friendly products available for fining wine, the most commonly used are clay based products such as Bentonite. 
Neudorf Tom's Block Pinot Noir 2014 (VG)

Neudorf Tom's Block Pinot Noir 2014 (VG)

Consistently top quality Pinot Noir from the team at Neudorf...

Add to Compare +

£25.00

Tinpot Hut Sauvignon Blanc 2017 (Magnum - 150cl) (VG)

Tinpot Hut Sauvignon Blanc 2017 (Magnum - 150cl) (VG)

Even better in a Magnum! Classic NZ Sauvignon - packed with passionfruit, melon, lemongrass and thym..

Add to Compare +

£0.00

Alpha Zeta Amarone 2015 (VG)

Alpha Zeta Amarone 2015 (VG)

Rich and powerful with a lovely balance of ripe tannins and spiced savoury cherry fruits...

Add to Compare +

£28.00

Showing 65 to 67 of 67 (9 Pages)